Recent Contest Winners and Scholarship Recipients

2019 Optimist Scholarship Recipients

Congratulations to Platteville High School Seniors Kaden Kowalski and Kaycie Wagner, who were each selected to receive a $1000 scholarship from the Platteville Optimist Club.  Kaden plans to attend UW-Platteville and Kaycie plans to attend Madison College.

On the left:  Kaden Kowalski, son of Ryan and Britney Kowalski

On the right: Kaycie Wagner, daughter of Ray and Liz Wagner

SWIS District Optimist Oratorical Contest Winner - 2019
     Dylan Pink

It is a pleasure to congratulate Dylan Pink, 8th grade student from St. Rose School Cuba City in placing first in the SWIS District Optimist Oratorical Contest held at the Kalahari in May 11.  Dylan’s efforts awarded him with a $2,500 Scholarship.  His next competition is in St Louis at the regional competition in July.

On the left:  Dylan Pink

On the right: Duane Borgen, Dylan, Wayne Wodarz

SWIS District Zone 6 Optimist Oratorical Contest Winners - 2019
   1st Place:      Leah Mergen
   2nd Place:     Dylan Pink

Leah Mergen and Dylan Pink, students from St. Rose, Cuba City, recently placed first and second in the SWIS District Zone 6 Optimist Oratorical Contest.  Both Leah and Dylan will now compete at the District level in May at the SWIS District Optimist International 3rd Quarter Conference at the Kalahari in the Wisconsin Dells.  Each will have an opportunity to win up to a $2,500 scholarship.  Leah is representing the Platteville Area Optimist, pictured with Howard Crofoot and Dylan is representing the Platteville Optimist, pictured with Maxine Lane.

Oratorical Contest Winners - 2020
             Treyton Furrer and Nicholas Connolly

Winners of the Optimist sponsored Oratorical contest were Treyton Furrer, student at St. Rose and Nicholas Connolly, Jr. at  Iowa-Grant. Pictured also is Christine Storlie of Platteville Optimists. Treyton and Nicholas will now compete at the Zone level and could possibly move on to the District, winning up to a $2,500 scholarship.

Oratorical Contestants - 2020

Front Row: Benedict Drefcinski (runner-up),  Treyton Furrer (winner), Leah Mergen (runner-up), Eydie Cummins, Allison Joos

Back Row: Joseph Vyetreil, Breyden Johll, Nicholas (winner) Christine Storlie

Essay Contest Winner - 2020
1st place: Aksel Schuldes
Awards were presented to Platteville Middle School students placing in the recent Essay Contest sponsored Platteville Optimist and UWP Student Optimist Club. Pictured are Wayne Wodarz, Optimist member/Youth Activities Chair, Honorable Mention recipients pictured are Lilly Otto, Penny Black, Eva Hollingsworth, and Nicholas Rohou. Taking first place was Aksel Schuldes. Dr. Christine Storlie has served as Essay Chair for several years and is also a member of the Platteville Optimist Club. The essay topic was “Is Optimism the Key to Achieving the Dreams you iMagine”. Congratulations to all participants. Aksel's essay will compete at the SWIS District level for a chance to win a $2,500 scholarship.
TriStar Basketball  Participants and Winners - 2019

Our annual Tri-Star Basketball dribbling, shooting and passing competition was held on Saturday, March 23, 2019, on the University of Wisconsin-Platteville Campus, Bo Ryan Court. This year, 36 youth ranging in age from 6 through 13 participated. First place participants in each age category qualified for the annual district competition.

            The 2019 boys and girls first place winners:

Front row, left to right

Kinley Richard, Grayson Geyer, Gavin VanNatta, Kaia Kerkenbush, Kingston Clayton

Back row, left to right

Kylie Heller, Avery Richard, Vienna Richards, Quinn Temperly, Hudson Weittenhiller, Landon Geyer, Zachery Ludlum

Platteville Optimist Club                     Home     About Us    Minutes & Newsletter    Projects    Join Us     Contact Us

Copyright 2015